Page 1 of 2

Firmware update

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:17 pm
by faboy123cycling
Hi, do you update firmware when available? there is a new one for the K3 and the K50.

Firmware update

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:41 pm
by richandfleur
Yes

Though in this case, it's not likely to be of much use, unless you're looking to purchase one of the new lens types.

You never know what else is addresses in the 'improved stability' catch all title.

Firmware update

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:55 pm
by Smeggypants
I don't unless there's something broken or I need compatibility with a new lens or something. I've learned over the years to not fix what isn't broken :)

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:34 pm
by Chris
Smeggypants wrote:I've learned over the years to not fix what isn't broken :)


Yes, but updating to new-shiny-shiny gives you a brief delusion that it will work better.

Usually it's only moments before one's hopes are crushed, but that moment of excitement counts for a lot.

Firmware update

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:34 am
by walkeja
Just updated my K3, now dead simple - screen says downloading, then complete. Checked, I have the latest firmware. :)

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:09 am
by scarr1
walkeja wrote:Just updated my K3, now dead simple - screen says downloading, then complete. Checked, I have the latest firmware. :)


same here. first time ive ever done it, and it was a doddle.

Firmware update

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:52 pm
by Mannesty
Always update your firmware, there is no sensible reason not to other than fear. Firmware is updated by manufacturers to either fix bugs or to deliver new or better functionality. Why would you not update?

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:40 pm
by faboy123cycling
Thanks for you comments - I tend to agree with Mannesty - why would Ricoh update the firmware if it wasn't necessary

Firmware update

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:17 pm
by richandfleur
Because it can introduce new bugs, or because you do not need the features that the firmware update provides.

in this case the latest K-50 firmware updates are to provide compatibility with new additional hardware, being the 1.4x teleconverter and the new KAF4 lens mount ability for electronic diaphragm control on the new HD PENTAX-DA 55-300mmF4.5-6.3ED PLM WR RE lens. If you don't have either of these products, then you won't gain much.

Your only hope is they've tweaked something else small that they haven't advertised. And that the new firmware doesn't contain bugs.

Now, if I was a Fuji owner, I'd be way more excited about firmware updates...
http://www.popphoto.com/fujifilm-x-t1-firmware-40-update-brings-serious-autofocus-improvements

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:48 am
by Smeggypants
faboy123cycling wrote:Thanks for you comments - I tend to agree with Mannesty - why would Ricoh update the firmware if it wasn't necessary



Software is updated to add new features and/or to fix bugs. New bugs can be introduced though so unless you have a specific bug that is being fixed or you need the new feature then why possibly break what isn't broken?

I've learned to not install software updates unless necessary, not through fear, but through experience as a software tester for several companies

Firmware update

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:26 pm
by Ozzy68
Hi all, I'm having trouble getting new firmware updates on to my K50 and K70, can someone tell me how it's done please.

Thanks in advance
Dave.

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:58 pm
by JohnX
Ozzy68 wrote:Hi all, I'm having trouble getting new firmware updates on to my K50 and K70, can someone tell me how it's done please.

Thanks in advance
Dave.



This is not intended as a sarcastic reply, but you could do worse than to read the instructions that come with the updates.

You just need to make sure that the .bin file is in the root of the SD card AND your batteries are fully charged.

Re: Firmware update

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:13 pm
by MrB
JohnX wrote:This is not intended as a sarcastic reply, but you could do worse than to read the instructions that come with the updates.




I'm no expert, so I did exactly that to update the K-70 firmware - I simply followed the step-by-step instructions on the download page at Ricoh and it works perfectly.

Philip

Firmware update

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:54 am
by Wizhunter
Hi
I know this is an oldish post but rather than starting a new one i thought i would ask my question here, i downloaded the firmware update version 1.20. formatted my sd card in camera, took it out and put it into my card reader, plugged it into my pc, copied the update to the sd card then put it back into my camera. I went to firmware in my menu and didn't have the option to update, what am i doing wrong ?

Thanks in advance
Tim

Firmware update

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:11 am
by richandfleur
Normally when this happens the file hasn't been unzipped, or has been, one of the two.

I haven't done one in quite a while now, so sorry won't be of much use.

All the best though. Hope you can get it sorted :thumb: